Jobs Overview

The Jobs screen of the portal will show you the list of all jobs that you have submitted to the server, together with their current status, their creation time, their queue or run-time and the server that they are running on. If you are the administrator, you will not only see the jobs sent by the yourself, but also all the jobs of all the other users.

Jobs and Requests

Please be aware that ‘requests’ in the AIMMS User Request Manager in your apps are exactly the same thing as ‘jobs’ in the jobs overview in the portal. The terms can be used interchangeably.

Terminating Running Jobs

You can terminate running jobs that take too long to solve, or that you are no longer interested in, either through the AIMMS PRO Request Manager within a client application, or through the Jobs screen of the portal. In both cases, you can select the job you want to terminate, and press the Terminate button to actually terminate the running job(s) on the server.

Inspecting Jobs

Any job that has run successfully, has failed, or has been terminated by the user, will remain visible in the AIMMS PRO Request Manager and the Jobs screen of the portal. This will allow you to load the results of any successfully completed request, or you may want to check the log files to inspect what went wrong with a request that failed to complete successfully.

Deleting Jobs

Eventually, when you have inspected the results or log files, you should delete all completed jobs from the list. This will free up all resources on the server, such as the input/output cases and log files, that are kept for every job. You can delete completed jobs either through the AIMMS PRO Requests Manager or via the Jobs screen in the portal, by selecting the requests you want to delete and pressing the Delete button.

Please know that deleting many jobs (i.e. hundreds) may be a slow process. You may have to wait a bit, or even restart your browser window in extreme cases. This is a known issue.

Completed jobs can also be automatically deleted. By default, all jobs that are older than 30 days will be deleted. You can change this setting by modifying the Job retention time value in the AIMMS PRO Configurator.

Return to AIMMS PRO Manual Index